David R. Heppner

Senior Vice President

David R. Heppner

Mr. Heppner is senior vice president of MPLX GP LLC. He is also chief strategy officer and senior vice president Business Development of Marathon Petroleum Corporation.

Mr. Heppner joined Marathon in 1988, where he held a variety of positions of increasing responsibility, including design engineer, construction engineer and project manager. In 1995, Mr. Heppner transferred to Emro Marketing Company, the predecessor of Speedway LLC, where he held various positions including purchasing and commercial services manager; business development manager; director of engineering services; and vice president of operations. In 2010, he was appointed director, wholesale marketing at MPC. In 2014, Mr. Heppner was appointed vice president of transition at Speedway. He was later named senior vice president of engineering services and corporate support at Speedway. He was named vice president, Commercial and Business Development for MPC in 2018 and senior vice president, Strategy and Business Development in 2021. He was named senior vice president of MPLX in 2022 and assumed his current position for MPC in 2024.

Mr. Heppner graduated from Ohio Northern University in 1988 with a Bachelor of Science degree in electrical engineering. He is a registered professional engineer in the state of Illinois. Mr. Heppner attended the Wharton School Advanced Management Program in 2013.

Mr. Heppner serves on the Board of Trustees at Ohio Northern University, as well as the board for Habitat for Humanity. He recently served as president of the United Way of Clark, Champaign and Madison Counties board of trustees, vice president of membership for the Boy Scouts of America, Black Swamp Council and was the campaign chairman for the Clark County March of Dimes. Mr. Heppner is a past member of the Children’s Miracle Network’s Board of Governors and Dayton Children’s Hospital Foundation board of trustees, as well as a past member of Wright State University College of Engineering and Computer Science External Advisory Board.