Timothy J. Aydt

Executive Vice President

Gary R. Heminger

Mr. Aydt is executive vice president of MPLX GP LLC. He is also executive vice president, Refining of Marathon Petroleum Corporation. 

Mr. Aydt joined Marathon in 1985 as a pipeline engineer. He held a series of positions of increasing responsibility in Marketing and Transportation Engineering’s pipeline and retail divisions. In 1991, he helped develop a crude pipeline and trucking project in Tunisia, North Africa. He returned to pipeline operations in Wyoming in 1992, before being named pipeline engineering manager in 1995. In 1999, Mr. Aydt was named project director for the development and construction of the Cardinal Pipeline, which runs from Kenova, West Virginia, to Columbus, Ohio. He was named engineering department manager at the Robinson refinery in 2003, and manager of refining major projects in 2005. Mr. Aydt served as project director for the $2.2 billion Detroit Heavy Oil Upgrade Project from 2008, until its completion in 2012 and was named general manager of Terminal, Transport and Rail in 2013. In 2017, he was appointed president, Marathon Pipe Line LLC and vice president, operations of MPLX GP LLC. In 2018, Mr. Aydt was named vice president, business development of MPLX GP LLC. In 2020, he was named chief commercial officer and executive vice president, Pipelines, Terminals and Marine and assumed his current position in 2022.

Mr. Aydt graduated from the University of Missouri-Rolla with a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering in 1985. He attended Wharton’s Advanced Management Program at the University of Pennsylvania in 2014.

Mr. Aydt is a board member of the American Petroleum Institute (API) Downstream Committee and a board member of the American Fuel and Petrochemical Manufacturers Association (AFPM). Mr. Aydt previously chaired the board of the Louisiana Offshore Oil Port (LOOP) and served as past owner representative of Capline, both of which are significant entities in the nation’s crude oil infrastructure. Mr. Aydt served as past board member of the Association of Oil Pipe Lines (AOPL), past member of the American Petroleum Institute’s (API) pipeline subcommittee steering group; served on the API-AOPL Pipeline Safety Excellence Steering Committee; and served on the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Technical Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Standards Committee.